CMS Announces Accreditation Exemptions

CMS has announced several supplier types are now exempt from all accreditation requirements. Among this supplier group are:
  • Physicians
  • Orthotists
  • Prosthetists
  • Opticians
  • Optometrists
  • Audiologists
  • Occupational Therapists
  • Physical Therapists
  • Suppliers providing drugs/pharmaceuticals only
In addition, suppliers that provide drugs and pharmaceuticals only are exempt from the accreditation requirement. If the supplier provides equipment to administer drugs or pharmaceuticals, the supplier must be accredited.

As of March 1, 2008, all DMEPOS suppliers with the exception of the exemptions listed above are required to be accredited prior to enrolling with the National Supplier Clearinghouse.

Last Updated: 09/22/2008