CMS Announces Accreditation Organizations for DMEPOS Suppliers

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has announced the names of national accreditation organizations that will accredit suppliers of durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics and supplies (DMEPOS) as meeting new quality standards under Medicare Part B.

DMEPOS suppliers will have to meet new quality standards in order to be able to bill the Medicare Part B program for durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics, or prosthetic devices, such as walkers, wheelchairs, and hospital beds, furnished to Medicare beneficiaries. The requirement that CMS-approved accreditation organizations apply quality standards to DMEPOS suppliers was enacted as part of the Medicare Modernization Act of 2003. The Medicare Modernization Act also requires CMS to implement competitive bidding for certain items of DMEPOS.

CMS hopes to minimize the burden on suppliers by having the accreditation organizations consider during the survey process the previous accreditation, Medicare certification and licensure that would indicate the quality standards are being met. In addition, CMS will instruct accrediting organizations to focus first on suppliers in the initial group of Metropolitan Statistical Areas (MSAs) chosen for the competitive bidding program.

The following organizations have been recognized as national accreditation organizations and have been given deeming authority to accredit DMEPOS suppliers seeking to participate in the Medicare
  • Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations
  • Community Health Accreditation Program
  • Healthcare Quality Association on Accreditation
  • Accreditation Commission for Healthcare, Inc
  • Board for Orthotist/Prosthetist Certification
  • National Association of Boards of Pharmacy
  • Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities
  • American Board for Certification in Orthotics and Prosthetics, Inc.
  • The Compliance Team, Inc.
Most of the accreditation organizations are authorized to accredit all major supplier types, and most will be able to accredit both national and local suppliers, as well as mail order companies. Information about the types of suppliers each accrediting organization is approved to accredit and how to contact a deemed accrediting organization is posted on the CMS website.

Contact NSC

Email National Supplier Clearinghouse

Contact a specific NSC department

Telephone: 866-238-9652

IVR: 866-238-9652


National Supplier Clearinghouse

Palmetto GBA, AG-495

P.O. Box 100142

Columbia, SC 29202-3142

Other Palmetto GBA Sites

Palmetto GBA Home

DMEPOS Competitive Bidding Program

Jurisdiction J Part A MAC

Jurisdiction J Part B MAC

Jurisdiction M Part A MAC

Jurisdiction M Part B MAC

Jurisdiction M Home Health and Hospice MAC


National Supplier Clearinghouse MAC


RRB Specialty MAC Providers

RRB Specialty MAC Beneficiaries