CMS Announces Accreditation Exemptions

CMS has announced several supplier types are now exempt from all accreditation requirements. Among this supplier group are:
  • Physicians
  • Orthotists
  • Prosthetists
  • Opticians
  • Optometrists
  • Audiologists
  • Occupational Therapists
  • Physical Therapists
  • Suppliers providing drugs/pharmaceuticals only
In addition, suppliers that provide drugs and pharmaceuticals only are exempt from the accreditation requirement. If the supplier provides equipment to administer drugs or pharmaceuticals, the supplier must be accredited.

As of March 1, 2008, all DMEPOS suppliers with the exception of the exemptions listed above are required to be accredited prior to enrolling with the National Supplier Clearinghouse.

Contact NSC

Email National Supplier Clearinghouse

Contact a specific NSC department

Telephone: 866-238-9652

IVR: 866-238-9652


National Supplier Clearinghouse

Palmetto GBA, AG-495

P.O. Box 100142

Columbia, SC 29202-3142

Other Palmetto GBA Sites

Palmetto GBA Home

DMEPOS Competitive Bidding Program

Jurisdiction J Part A MAC

Jurisdiction J Part B MAC

Jurisdiction M Part A MAC

Jurisdiction M Part B MAC

Jurisdiction M Home Health and Hospice MAC


National Supplier Clearinghouse MAC


RRB Specialty MAC Providers

RRB Specialty MAC Beneficiaries