What is accreditation, and why is CMS requiring it for DMEPOS suppliers?

Accreditation is the process by which an organization is authorized and credentialed. CMS requires DMEPOS Medicare suppliers to attain accreditation to ensure industry standards are met and to maintain high levels of excellence in service and supplies. As of October 1, 2009, all DMEPOS suppliers unless otherwise exempted by supplier type must be accredited by one of the nine CMS authorized accrediting organizations.

Contact NSC

Email National Supplier Clearinghouse

Contact a specific NSC department

Telephone: 866-238-9652

IVR: 866-238-9652


National Supplier Clearinghouse

Palmetto GBA, AG-495

P.O. Box 100142

Columbia, SC 29202-3142

Other Palmetto GBA Sites

Palmetto GBA Home

DMEPOS Competitive Bidding Program

Jurisdiction J Part A MAC

Jurisdiction J Part B MAC

Jurisdiction M Part A MAC

Jurisdiction M Part B MAC

Jurisdiction M Home Health and Hospice MAC


National Supplier Clearinghouse MAC


RRB Specialty MAC Providers

RRB Specialty MAC Beneficiaries